IanSimon17609.jpg

New Moves: Short Digital Dance Works

Commissioned Choreographer

Bahala Na by Ian Simon

Watch Bahala Na exclusively at

CanAsian Dance Festival 25!

Program B - March 30th 2022 - 8:00 pm ET ( 5:00pm PT  |  7:00pm CT  |  9:00pm AT )

Photo of Ian Simon by Ian Simon

About

Bahala Na

'Bahala Na' is a short narrative-dance film about the Filipino diaspora of a first-generation immigrant navigating to find his cultural identity. The short film follows the story of Juan, a young adult who feels out of touch with his cultural roots. Going out to a party with his best-friend Luna, what was supposed to be a regular night turns into a journey of navigation, reflection and acceptance of his ethnic roots and cultural identity.

5. Bahala Na by Ian Simon - Film Still - Version 1.jpg

Film Still from Bahala Na, Choreographed and Directed by Ian Simon

3. Bahala Na by Ian Simon - Film Still - Version 1.jpg

Film Still from Bahala Na, Choreographed and Directed by Ian Simon

A Word

From the Dramaturg

"Bahala Na explores both halves of Ian Simon’s identity through the metaphor of Juan and Luna’s friendship. It is a raw, honest and compelling look at how one navigates their sense of belonging in the world and all the burdens that come with trying to straddle those worlds — guilt, shame and humiliation. It’s my belief that we can never really stop exploring the facets of our identity - there is so much rich material to mine especially when your sense of self is rooted in so many different kinds of home. Bahala Na is a beautiful offering to anyone out there who’s ever felt being too much of something and not enough of anything."

 - Nina Lee Aquino

The New Moves program is made possible with the generous support of TD Bank Group

TD_SHIELD_PRINT_LOGO_COL_RGB.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • output-onlinepngtools (2)